#GP001: How Can I go On? by Margaret Biodomoye Sammy

I presume you’ve heard of the phrase “Groom them Young”? or “Catch them young”. Well, here’s a new one for you, “Know Them Young”.

Today’s post is a poem by Margaret ‘Biodomoye’ Sammy. Margaret is a sixth grade pupil of Vine International School, Port-Harcourt in Nigeria and a girls’ rights writer (Yes, Activist! *fist pump*).

To those who do not read poems because they think of poetry to be full of incomprehensible metaphors, don’t worry, you’re safe. I will refrain from saying so much now till the end. So, have a good read and see you at the bottom of this page….

***

How can I go on,

When the world is chasing me

A race I might never win,

My legs fail me.

***

I need help,

Not encouragement

Why won’t they listen to me?

I can’t run anymore,

I am just a girl,

Tomorrow’s woman I’m out of breath.

***

Can’t you hear me?

I might be trapped in a box,

With my talent strapped in my pouch

I plead for a moment to be heard,

To be seen,

Please don’t say no

***

If I do my part,

What about yours?

I am human, Not a machine,

Listen to me,

I beg to be heard

***

 Now, my analysis *rubs palms* 😀

Reading through this poem, I am reminded of girlhood. How sweet, how innocent, how confusing, how challenging and how vulnerable we are to the world around us. Many of us have exhibited over a thousand different personalities just between girlhood to womanhood. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating about the personalities but you get the gist. We change who we truly are to fit into what lifestyle society has mapped out for us.

My favourite lines are;

…Tomorrow’s woman I’m out of breath.

Can’t you hear me?

I might be trapped in a box,

With my talent strapped in my pouch

I plead for a moment to be heard

Almost like, the poet is surrounded by people with small enclosed minds who believe all girls and women should act same; Sit upright, cross your legs, shut up, stay away from boys, marry young, study a professional course, be true to yourself, be like your sister, yada yada… A turmoil of confusion indeed.

So she apologises and explains her current situation to her future self (tomorrow’s woman) because she understands the consequences of not being true to the character within her and she wishes people could just be open minded enough to see, understand and accept her uniqueness. After all, she’s tired of those empty words of encouragement; she wants action. Hence the phrase;

I need help,

Not encouragement…

I may be wrong in my translation but that’s the beauty of poetry; Read a poem to a thousand people and you will have a thousand and one interpretations.

To wrap it up, I think this poem is a delicate plea. Drop your interpretations and comments below and remember to share this poem. The young girl is not asking for too much, she just wants to be heard. Help a sister!

2 thoughts on “#GP001: How Can I go On? by Margaret Biodomoye Sammy

  1. I did poetry when I was in school and one good thing about it is that everyone has his or her own opinion to what ever they read as long as you can defend it. that is why I like the Literature and art world (sorry to scientists who are limited in thought). This is a poem of realization. The poem starts from girlhood to saying that “tomorrows woman I am out of breath” it means she could see the “tomorrows woman” from her immediate environment as a girl.

    The stanza that got to me was this:

    “Can’t you hear me?
    I might be trapped in a box,
    With my talent strapped in my pouch
    I plead for a moment to be heard,
    To be seen,
    Please don’t say no” .

    oh Yes!!
    I can be called a feminist, a liberal one but I think ladies should be heard like the men are. Really, some ladies have more drive than men and if you don’t know any then you know me. How can we go on when our voices and talents are not recognized? I also plead for a moment to be heard. Remember this is my analysis of that stanza. 🙂

    • True, gender should never be used to determine a person’s limit. Many girls and women are dying slowly in silence.
      Thank you Chigozie for taking out time to give your analysis. Very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

